Independence Hall Home Search Contents Indexes Help

Article 1, Section 1

All legislative Powers herein granted shall be vested in a Congress of the United States, which shall consist of a Senate and House of Representatives.

1.John Locke, Second Treatise, §§ 134--42, 1689
2.William Blackstone, Commentaries 1:149--51, 156--57, 1765
3.John Adams, Thoughts on Government, Apr. 1776
4.Records of the Federal Convention
5.Alexander Hamilton, New York Ratifying Convention, 20 June 1788
6.William R. Davie, North Carolina Ratifying Convention, 24 July 1788
7.James Iredell, North Carolina Ratifying Convention, 25 July 1788
8.Wayman v. Southard
9.Bank of the United States v. Halstead
10.James Kent, Commentaries 1:207--10, 1826

Home | Search | Contents | Indexes | Help

© 1987 by The University of Chicago
All rights reserved. Published 2000